Our Vision…

Creating a love of learning within a safe, caring, respectful, sustainable environment where individual excellence and diversity is valued.

Principal’s Message:

Kia ora Parents, Caregivers, Whānau and Friends of our School,

With Anna’s appointment as Principal from next year, a vacancy was created in our leadership team. The Board decided to fill this vacancy internally for terms 1 and 2, 2018 and review the leadership roles within the  school during term 1. We currently have a very effective leadership team  and roles will be shuffled within the team for the start of the year.  Linda Forbes has been appointed Deputy Principal and Jac Tapp Assistant principal. The Junior Syndicate Leader’s position is currently being advertised internally.

At this week’s Board meeting, the Board decided to co-opt Anna-Louise Sinnott to the Board. It is positive to have new faces on our board and to strengthen the skill set available. The  Board also reviewed the Finance, Property and Health and Safety policies and Codes of Conducts.  These can all be accessed by parents via our website, by clicking the link in the right margin, “Board Policies.” One of these policies, ‘Emergency Closure’, explains the process we follow if we have to close the school, during the school day.  In the event that the school closes part way through the day, pupils will not be sent home unless the school is assured they will be safe and someone will be available to look after them. Children would be kept at school, supervised by an adult: the Principal, Deputy Principal, Assistant Principal, teacher/s, or staff member/s, until a parent or their emergency contact could be contacted.

I have become aware that some of our children have their own Snapchat accounts. This is of concern, because children should not have accounts until they are 13 years old, and then only with parent permission. Parent permission is required until age 18. Karla Sanders, who has set up the Sticks and Stones programme, gave me a useful link for parents. Please take the time to look at this: “A Parent’s Guide to Snapchat.”  https://www.connectsafely.org/wp-content/uploads/snapchat_guide.pdf

Congratulations to Hamish Earl, who gained 2nd place in the Under 11y boys shot put and Mykaelah Smith who came 10th in the U10 girls long jump,  at the Otago Athletics Sports yesterday.

This Friday our Year 6 children will be visiting College as part of the transition process. We will still have assembly for the remainder of the school, at 9:30am. This is our last formal assembly for the year as children will be practising for their end of year extravaganza. The year 6 prizegiving will be held on Wed 13th December, 1:30pm. Parents are invited to attend.


Ka pai to wiki. Have a safe week. Nga mihi nui, Sharon.


Key Links:


2017 Athletics Day Timetable

Central Otago Kids Duathlon – Goldfields School Fundraiser Entry Form

Primary Schools Cromwell Zone Review: Descriptions and Maps


trophy-winners-20162016 Trophy Winners: Individual Excellence – Kaia; Contributions to the Life of the School – Natalia; Anderson Family Trophy for stepping up as a year 6 – Sam and Mac (Joint winners); Dalzell Family Trophy for positivity, courage and kindness – Isabella; Whanau Trophy, Kiwi – Leaders, Casey and Natalia.